Permission Artefact Verification on RFM using X509Certificate OpenSSL

Hi,

I am new to this platform and I am able to do registration and download Permission Artefact. I was trying to verify the signed data from the artefact with signature and by extracting public key from x509 certificate.

I am using c++ and openssl for verification of code. The signed data is taken in a char pointer before verification process.

Also the signing and verification is working fine if the data is signed at my end using x509 Certificate.

Can you please share your side of implementation of x509 certificate verification using openssl using c.

Hi Sidbh,

I went through the repository and found the verification of permission artefact is being done through public key (.pem) file stored locally and not through public key extracted from X509 Certificate that comes with “permissionAretefact.xml”.
Is there a way I can verify the data inside “permissionAretefact.xml” with X509 certificate and signature inside it using OpenSSL. If yes can you please share some steps for same.

Thanks.

Hi @cks123,
You don’t want to do that because then there would be no point of having a signature on the data.
Imagine if a third party creates the Permission Artefact, signs it using its own private key - you would be using the public key provided by the third party itself (from the certificate i.e. ), and will be able to successfully verify the Permission Artefact, when in fact, the Perm Art was not from DGCA.
You have to use a separately stored Public Key (which is released by Digital Sky) to verify the Perm Art.

Is that not right, @sidbh ?

Hi sachman,

That not how verification of x509 Certificate works.

For your reference:
XMLSec Lib uses Intermediate and Root certificate for verification of signed XML:
https://www.aleksey.com/xmlsec/api/xmlsec-verify-with-x509.html#xmlsec-example-verify3

Even the DigitalSkyAPI java code uses similar process: